Let’s talk about the dressage whip. More specifically, my aversion to it. That’s right, mine. Not the horse’s. Mine.

I, uh, think it kinda scares me. Well, not the actual whip but the horse’s reaction to it. She’s not afraid of the whip but she responds to it. That’s what scares me. She responds.

Response = Aversion

Nuts, huh? Isn’t that what we want? A responsive horse?

Her response is completely sane too. Not a buck in sight. Actually, that doesn’t scare me. Uh, bucking that is. Been there, done that. Her response on the other hand? Scary.

You see all I have to do, when I’m forced into it, is barely tickle her inside leg with the whip. Barely. Once.

Whoompf!
She jumps a little.
Bam!
She’s round.
She’s stepping under with her hind leg.
She’s responsive.
Scary.

What am I supposed to do with all this!
She’s listening.
I have a truly rounded horse beneath me.

Uh, HELP!

This is supposed to be my goal, right? We’re not supposed to be dragged around the ring on a horse that’s snoozing.

Oh, that reminds me. I’ve decided that a whip is similar to an alarm clock. Yep. I’d rather have the horse hit the snooze button than actually wake up. Repeatedly.

So, if you’ll excuse me, I’m going to throw the alarm clock out the window.

“Can I drop the whip now? Pleeease.”

