“Look what you’ve done! I’m melting! Melting!” ­
—Wicked Witch, The Wizard of Oz


I’m extremely jealous of the Wicked Witch. Sigh
Why?! Because she’s melting! And…well, I can’t.

Melting? Whatcha talking about?

You know, the whole dressage ‘seat’ thing.
“Sit deeply in the saddle.”
“Melt into the horse.”
I can’t do it. At least not consistently.

I think I’ve diagnosed the problem though.
Butt balls. Yep, butt balls.

Huh?

You heard me. Butt balls. My tense butt muscles are causing me to hover instead of sit.

What?! You don’t believe me? Then you need to listen in on my lesson.

“Sit! Sit right down on her.”

I am sitting!
Wait. Maybe it’s more like hovering.
Take a deep breath. Exhale.
My seat is getting heavier in the saddle. Ah!

See? Even though I thought I was ‘sitting’ into my downward transition, I wasn’t really sitting. This is so annoying! The cold weather isn’t helping either. My butt balls are starting to feel more like snow balls.

Oh, snow balls. On second thought I just might know the cure after all.

“Excuse me, could you pass the ice melt please?”

