That’s it! (sob) I’ve tried begging, screaming and crying. Nothing has worked. Just more and more snow has fallen from the sky. Obviously, the snow gods are angry and they’re trying to bury me alive. What did I ever do to you? What?!

Snow storm in Dec. 2010

 

Snow storm in Dec. 2010

 

The second snow storm in Jan. 2011

 

The second snow storm in Jan. 2011

Oh, no. Did I offend you last week with the accidental sacrifice of a letter? I swear that was an accident. A mere letter would never appease the snow gods. Even one labeled “important tax return document”. Please let me explain.

In my bleary eyed, shoveling induced coma, er, exhaustion I clearly had a lapse in judgment. You see I was on my way inside with the mail when I became distracted by my snow covered car. Better to clear it off now instead off later when it was iced over. So, I placed the mail down on the back steps and got to it. Snow was flying everywhere and Bella, my chocolate Labrador, was bouncing and bounding trying to catch it. Then she’d race to Wanda, my golden retriever, and the chase was on! Around and around the car they ran. It’s hard to believe that they’re 7 and 9. At this point the snow is falling fast and I’m racing to finish. As I rounded the back corner of the car, I noticed a letter fluttering on the steps. A letter. One. I snatched it up and panic set in.

Wait a minute! There were three letters and one junk mail thingy. BELLA! I shot around the car and discovered the junk mail shredded and laying in the snow. More scouring revealed another piece of mail and still another. The snow is falling quicker as I continue to hunt cursing beneath my breathe. Have you ever looked for a white envelop in snow! The snow was falling so quickly that you couldn’t tell I had shoveled at all. At this point I’m on the verge of tears and I’m using the shovel to shift the snow around the car. Remember “important tax return document”? gulp!

I soon admitted defeat and went inside to shower. My husband received a tearful message regarding the mail and our dogs and I left for the barn. I think they ate that letter! Well, maybe just Bella and if she didn’t the snow blower did.

So, how does an adult rider manage snow? Not well. Not well at all.

I need a new tactic. Any suggestions?

