Oooo, I think they’re talking about me.

“Faster than a speeding bullet.
More powerful than a locomotive.”

I can do that!
Wanna see? Huh, huh?
Let me show ya.
I can go faster…and faster…
And pull stronger…and stronger…

Whoa, there my overachieving steed. We need to talk. (transition down to walk)

About?

Your need for speed.

Faster? I can go faster!

No, no, no. This isn’t a race.

But I feel good. I wanna go faster!

No. This is dressage. You need to go forward not faster.

Forward. Faster. Same thing.

No, it’s not. Now slow down. (half-halt)

Hey! I wanna go! (pulls on left rein, picks up speed)

No! (halt) Will you behave and wait for me?

Uh-huh. (flicks ears) Now?

Okay, walk.
Walking…walking…walking
walking…walkingwalkingwalking

Listen to me! (half-halt)
walking faster…faster…faster…

H-E-L-L-O! (one rein stop)

Okay, I’m listening. Sheesh.

Good, let’s try it again. This time I’m going to think shoulder-in while we’re walking.

Yeah, yeah, yeah, let’s go!
Uh, what’re ya doing?

Pushing you into the outside rein.

But I can’t go faster!

Exactly!

Aargh, this is hard. My abs!

But look at that hind leg! It’s stepping under.

Uh-huh. My abs!

And those corners! FEI quality!

Really?

Really. See? We just need to break things down into smaller bite size pieces. And you need to listen to me. Wanna try serpentines with turn on the haunches on the center line?

Okay.

(Walk to center line, flex to the right, wait for it…wait…
One step to the right, another…)

Good job! Did you notice how light you got?

Yeah! Let’s do more.

