Cold.
Cold, cold, cold!
So, cold.
I mean really cold.

Did I happen to mention that I’m COLD? (shivering)

Here, let me show you.
Yelp! Your hands are freezing!
Hee hee, I know. Be thankful that I haven’t exposed you to my feet. Or my nose for that matter. Blocks of ice!

“…Whatever I touch
Turns to snow in my clutch
I’m too much!…”
– Mr. Snow Miser

The other night the temperature was around 25°. This right, 25°! That’s cold! (shivering) It makes riding rather difficult unless I’m properly dressed. It’s not fun when you can’t feel your toes or fingers. And the dismount? Painfully jarring on cold, stiff joints. (Darn! There’s that word again.)

Time to break out the winter riding gear, huh? So, what does a dressage rider in New England choose to wear? I can’t answer for everyone else but I like layers without the bulk. I ride in an indoor so I concentrate more on staying warm then the actual elements. I deal with those during the trip to the barn but that’s a whole ‘nother post.

I wear a thermal base layer shirt that delivers warmth and wicks away moisture, (cough) otherwise known as sweat. Yes, even in winter you can, um, glow. Yeah, that’s it. Glow. Next layer up is a Nike Dri-FIT fleece shirt and a lightweight jacket by CB. It has a soft shell exterior as well as pockets. Lots of pockets! I’m talking loaded! The arm, interior and exterior, lots and lots of pockets. Oops, I digress. On the bottom half, the obligatory winter tall socks and riding breeches. I love the TuffRider Unifleece Winter Breeches. They have a fleece interior and a soft shell exterior. Soft and warm! Heaven. Sigh.

I was able to buy the shirts and the jacket at Marshalls or TJ Maxx for a small fraction of the cost. Gotta love a bargain!

Of course, I also wear winter riding boots and a helmet which aren’t pictured. Actually, Santa’s bring me new ones and I can’t wait! I just know my new riding boots will help me ride better. There’s nothing a new pair of boots can’t do! I’ll be quicker, faster, more accurate, um, warmer.

