My left leg is jealous. It’s all my fault too. I’ve been unfairly focused on it’s sibling. Sigh.

I’m sorry. I should’ve paid more attention to you but I’ve been busy. I know, I know. (Pressing hands in the air.) No excuses, but… I’ve been in the midst of negotiations with your sibling. An offer is on the table and I think we’ve finally reached an agreement. It benefits you too.

How? Well, right leg is agreeing to mind her own business and stay on her side of horse. No more creeping up in an effort to do your job. Isn’t that great! She’s also agreed to relax more.

See? I really didn’t mean to ignore you. It’s just that this whole riding thing is sooo demanding. I’m juggling two shoulders, elbows, hands, seat bones, thighs, lower legs, heels, um, and a dressage whip. Oh, and a horse, duh! Which of course reminds me of the countless separate and simultaneous signals needed to communicate effectively. All at the same time!

Whew! I’m exhausted just thinking about it.

Yes, you’re right. I should’ve seen the signs of neglect earlier. Then I would’ve known that you needed me. Your cries for attention started out small, huh? First, my right stirrup felt too long. Then I noticed I was leaning to the left. Kinda like the photo here. Sigh.

Hey! Where’s my right seat bone?
It’s slip slidin’ away. Right off the saddle!

Knock it off!
Stop pushing me off the saddle!

Look we need to come to an agreement. This behavior is totally unacceptable. You need to stay long and relaxed on your side of the horse. Just like the right leg does.

I know! Let’s try something? I promise that I’ll give you equal attention. Actually, this will help you do your job. Will you try it? Great!

trotting…
this feels great…
oops! sliding off to the right…
barely lift myself up and set myself down on the left…
ah, much better!…
canter? uh, sure…
cantering…
lift…set down on left…
cantering…
lift…set down…lift…set down

Much straighter! Now relax those thighs!
Remember no more slip slidin’ away!

