I was finally introduced to haunches in. It was a very amicable meeting and he reminded me a lot of his cousin shoulder in. So much so that I managed to confuse the two. Much like a mother calling all the kids by the wrong name. Sigh.

Let’s get started with haunches in down the long side. Inside leg at the girth, outside leg in third position. (Is this ballet?) A little more incline…not bad. Straightening before I reached the corner. I approach the next long side and set myself up for haunches in again. But wait! What’s wrong with this picture? I’ve switched myself around. My outside leg is now my inside leg and vise versa. Instead of haunches in I’m doing shoulder in (a very good one by the way). Or maybe haunches out? I don’t know how to do that yet. Do I?

I continued to practice haunches out…no in!

Discovery: I’m right handed and had a really hard time when my left leg was outside. Maybe it was stiffness in my hips but my left leg did not want to move back into third position. I should also mention that this is the horse’s stiff side. She likes to hang on the left rein. I know. I have the callus to prove it! Of course that also proves that I’m not riding enough with my seat. The evidence says so. Dang it!

Anyway, it all reminded me of the whole right/left thing. You know what I’m talking about. “Turn left. No the other left!” Yeah, that. A math editor I once knew said that we confuse right/left because we learned them too early. Our minds weren’t ready. Is it too early for me to learn haunches in or am I just fishing for excuses?

