You know what they say, “practice makes perfect.” So, where’s the perfect?

I’m waiting. (Arms crossed, foot tapping impatiently.)
Still waiting.

You see, I keep practicing…
and practicing…
and practicing…
(sigh)

…and waiting.

Instead of perfect, I’ve discovered that I can’t pick up a canter to the right. What’s up with that? The solution is obvious. I practice. I know it’s me. I can canter to the left.

Still practicing…
waiting…
waiting…

Blech!
I few choppy half hearted steps.
Again.
(Remember, I’m practicing.)
Blech!

Forget it. Switching directions.
Look! I can pick up a canter to the left.

Okay. What did I do? It feels different and he reacts.
Hmmm, cantering to the left from trot…half-halt…bending into the corner…half-halt…stepping into the right stirrup…outside leg…barely scoop with seat

Switching directions for investigative research.
Trotting to the right…half-halt…bending in the corner…half-halt…inside leg…clenching Thunder’s side…outside leg…clenching Thunder’s side…attempt to scoop…choppy steps…

Oh my God! I’ve become a Klingon, er, cling on. To the right.
Still practicing…

Further research reveals that I’m not stepping into my left stirrup! (dope slap)

Let’s try that again.
Not bad…a little close to the wall…eeks! scraping my stirrup iron…

Uh-oh!
Thunder’s head is popping up like a Giraffe…where’s his butt?
**Expletive!** (Sorry, G-Rated blog.)
Flying down the rail…corner!…where’s the whip?…drop the whip…sit back…sit back
Whew!
Oops…caused a boarder to practice the emergency dismount. Sorry.

Note to self:
Don’t carry the whip on the outside when your horse likes to scrape you against the wall. It unintentionally tickles him. Spurs don’t help when they’re shoved into his side during the scraping process.

Really got him cantering to the left though. Maybe I should practice that.

