Prepare for the corner!  Ride your corners!  More outside rein!  Get that bend! Corners…corners…corners…corners…

Shh! What was that?
Corners…corners…corners…corners…

There it is again!
Corners…corners…corners…corners…

Please, make it stop!
Corners…corners…corners…corners…

It’s like a skipping record, er, scratched CD, playing the same old thing
again
and again and again

Corners…corners…corners…corners…

I can’t get it out of my head…
Corners…corners…corners…
corners…

At this rate, I’m practically guaranteed nightmares!
About riding a perfect dressage corner of all things!

I never used to hear this before. When did things go wrong?

Mental review of 2009
Hmmm, I seem to remember another instructor telling me not to ride such fancy corners. Being the good student I am, I stopped. She must’ve had a good reason, right? Maybe the horse wasn’t developed enough? I dunno…

Hello 2010! What will I do differently?
Ride those corners and get that crazy song outta my head! Okay, let’s go!

Passing V…half-halt…half-half…soften to the inside rein…
inside leg to outside rein…feel that hind leg stepping under me…nice!
Ack! Half-halt…straighten for a blink…
Prepare…bend…straighten…

Nice corners!
Yeah, I rock!…uh-oh…passing R…half-halt…half-halt…

Hey! Do you hear that? …???
Silence. The sound of a happy instructor.

Note to self: riding fancy corners is good!

