I’ve debated about whether I should post this. I try to keep things focused on my riding not on more personal things. However, in keeping with my blog’s subtitle I must share. If you’ve been wondering why I’ve been rather quiet…

These are trying times. We usually go home to see my family right after Thanksgiving but I had to cancel the trip this year. My son had a slight cough and the sniffles and I couldn’t risk exposing my mother. You see, she’s dying.

My mother’s been ill my entire life. I have vivid, childhood memories of her sleeping all day on the couch. Dad often worked nights and I’d take care of her while she vomited. We practically lived in the emergency room. After about 8 hours we’d be sent home with a diagnosis of pneumonia, gall stones, etc. At times, I think the doctors thought she was a hypochondriac. At times, we thought it too.

It wasn’t until I entered college that she was diagnosed with Lupus, then Sjögren’s. Both are autoimmune diseases. She was 42 at the time, my current age. Then the Lupus attacked her pancreas and she became an out of control diabetic. Granted she could afford to lose some weight. Eating properly and exercise definitely aren’t high on her list of priorities but hey, it’s her life.

Last year, my mother was diagnosed with Interstitial Lung Disease and given 3-5 years to live. She’s a candidate for a double lung transplant but due to her age won’t be considered. At 65 she’s considered too old. Unbelievable.

A week ago, she was diagnosed with a heart condition and my father now has pneumonia. She was told that her heart muscle is stiffening and the blood is pooling. I think it’s congestive heart failure. More testing may be forthcoming but they think it was caused by her diabetes. Through it all she’s kept her faith in God and refuses to give up.

God has thrown a lot at her. I think you could truly say she’s been tested.

