In a perfect world I would be able to clearly communicate with my school horse. She would understand my requests and comply without resistance or hesitation. In turn I’d be able to understand her actions and behaviors. We would find ourselves riding toward partnership, trust and understanding. Packed away at the bottom of my tack trunk would be all the moments of confusion and frustration. Long forgotten.

Perfect. Sigh.

This just in! Be on the look out!
Reports are pouring in that there’s been a tack trunk break! Confusion and Frustration have escaped! They have been known to frequent riding stables, leaving riders confused and frustrated. Do not approach them! If seen report their presence to your trainer.

Oh, no! During an unguarded moment Confusion and Frustration made a break for it. They hightailed it out of that musty old tack trunk in search of greener pastures. In the ensuing months I’ve caught glimpses of them lurking near our indoor. Watching riders fumble through movements with unmistakable glee.

I’ve made several attempts to harness them and put them back where they belong. I swear that no sooner have I grasped one when the other jumps upon my back further disrupting the clarity of my communication. I am determined to bridge the gap they forge between Horse and Human. To achieve this goal I’ve hired a translator. She has been immersed in the Horse culture and language since childhood. We will concentrate on the Horse dialect Dressage.

Human to Horse

Impulsion  = Non-existent until scary monsters are seen in every shadow.
Canter = “can’t, er, what?”
Free walk = time to leave the arena and munch some grass
Medium walk = more rare then medium

As you can see I have a lot of homework to do.

