Forgive me Father for I have sinned.

What is it that brings you here?

I covet the perfect 20-meter circle. On the bit, no less.

Say 10 Hail Mary’s and listen to your instructor next time. You need to stay centered in the saddle and regulate the outside rein but keep the forward. No twisting!

How did you know?!

This week’s sin, errrr, lesson

I got the forward. Too much forward. So much forward that we were running away. (Maybe I shouldn’t tickle her with the whip.)

I jinxed myself this time. The minute I suggested taping it things took a downward spiral. That’s okay. I’ll take the good and the bad because that’s the only way this dressage rider wannabe will progress. <sigh>

I need to remember not to lean forward.
I must pretend to be a pillar of strength.
I imagine that my body is a column. (See pillar of strength above.)
I must BREATHE! How many times do I have to say that breathing is good?
I must ride the outside shoulder.
Stay back.
Outside half-halt.
Touching points. Get to your touching points.
Half-halt! I said HALF-HALT!

(Make sure that you turn on the volume.)

