A math tutor once told me that I got all the difficult math problems. It was the easy math problems that I didn’t get. They were too easy and I was always looking for the “trick”. As a result I made math much harder then it actually was. I dedicate this post to that math tutor and my sister-in-law.

Here’s a dressage lesson that I really enjoyed. Errr, for the most part.

We started the lesson by walking between cone markers on a 20 meter circle. My mission was to spiral in to a smaller circle and back out again. It was a great way to establish the bend around my inside leg and the outside rein connection. It’s not easy though because everything is really S   L   O   W.

I picked up a trot and traveled around the arena. It all seemed so effortless. We moved as one powerful unit. Beautiful! That is until I heard the word that causes me to tense and stop breathing. You know the one… No, not 20 meter circle…

CANTER.

“Oh, no.”

So, I picked up a right lead canter. It was…horrible. I bounced around and the horse broke gait several times. You’d think I was a beginner. I had ruined all that had gone before with “Oh, no.”

I decided to change directions and things were only slightly better.

My instructor called me on it too. I had shut down the minute she said “canter!” and she’s right.

To atone, my new mission was to canter on the original circle with the cone markers. I had to travel in the path between them. I also had to spiral in slightly when there was traffic along the rail and then return to the 20 meter circle when the rail was clear.

It was amazing! I’ve never cantered so well before. In both directions too! We moved as one powerful unit again. <sigh>

So, I guess I need harder riding problems because the easy ones are too hard. Got it?

