Things are a little slow today. I find myself sitting on my exercise ball at my desk challenging my balance. (Idyll hands are the devil’s playground and all that.) It’s mildly entertaining as long as I don’t roll off. The benefit is that I’m working on my core, balance and overall coordination!

I hereby issue this challenge to you!

(Disclaimer: Not liable for any injury resulting from riding the exercise ball. Please consult with a Doctor before exercising. Always wear a helmet.)

Exercise Ball: Balanced Riders Challenge

  1. Sit on the exercise ball as you would on a horse, place your hands in rider position (rest them against a desk if needed).
  2. Lengthen your spine as you imagine a bungee cord pulling the top of your head up. (A little Sally Swift here.)
  3. Lift one foot off the floor and hold for 3 to 5 seconds. Switch legs.
  4. Repeat 8 times with each leg.

Challenge: Lift both feet off the floor, heels down. Sit with only the ball touching the floor.

Advanced challenges

  1. Lift both feet off the floor, heels down. Place your hands in rider position. Sit with only the ball touching the floor.
  2. Same as #1 but bounce as if riding the sitting trot.
  3. Same as #1 but work on opening and closing your hips. Tilt slightly forward and rolling the ball back (closed hips). Return to vertical (deep seat). Then tilt slightly back and rolling the ball forward (open hips). (A slight twist on Sally Swift again.)
  4. Same as #1 but take one or both legs away from the sides of the exercise ball.

I’ve done them all! You may have to work up to them little by little. Practice makes perfect.

Issue a challenge of your own.

