Volunteering I’m so excited! I decided to volunteer at the NEDA Fall Festival in Saugerties, NY for four days. I’ll be totally saturated in dressage and I can’t wait! I might even be able to squeeze in a visit to my family near Albany. In exchange I’ll get free room and board for each full day of volunteer work I give them. I can’t go wrong with that deal. You don’t have to be a member to volunteer at this event. If you’re interested in learning more please visit their volunteer page. To learn more about the event visit the NEDA website. Below is an excerpt from their press release.

A Dressage Event Like No Other!

New England Dressage Association
FALL FESTIVAL OF DRESSAGE
$44,450 Purse
for benefit of
JOSLIN DIABETES CENTER
“Conquering Diabetes in All of Its Forms”
September 9-13, 2009 ~ HITS on the Hudson, Saugerties NY

“…This event is one of the few internationally recognized American competitions (CDI-W J/Y Saugerties) recognized by the Federation Equestre Internationale (FEI). International competitors earn scores toward representing their countries at competitions such as the World Games or the Olympics. Specifically, Fall Festival is a qualifying event for the 2010 USEF Grand Prix and Intermediaire I Championships and for the US Grand Prix Freestyle Championship which selects the American representative at the annual FEI World Cup competition. On Thursday afternoon the International Competition begins with the formal inspection of the horses by FEI Officials, certifying their identity and their fitness to compete. Riders from Denmark, Israel, Germany, Netherlands, Sweden, Canada and other countries will compete. Classes are held Friday, Saturday, and Sunday with the Grand Prix de Dressage on Saturday afternoon and the crowd favorite Grand Prix Special and musical freestyles Sunday afternoon…”

