I’m considering a new career. It looks like I might be facing another layoff. That would be two layoffs in just over a year. So, I’m thinking of equine massage. I’m lucky enough to have Joyce Falese as a boarder at my barn. Joy is the head instructor at Equine Massage/Muscle Therapy in South Carolina. She’s worked with Mike Scott for about 13 years and has a thriving practice in Massachusetts and in Florida.

At the moment I’m polling the equine vets in my community to see how receptive they are. There’s been controversy regarding equine massage and who’s allowed to practice it. Here’s a recent article in the Boston Globe. In Massachusetts only vets are allowed but I think it’s okay as long as the therapist isn’t using the word therapy or trying to diagnose.

I’ll keep you posted.

