I’m a perfectionist and my own worse critic. Always have been.  So, learning dressage has been both a blessing and a curse.  I love the movements and when we’re in balance.  I hate it when I can’t pull it all together.  When I nail it though…then I’m cruising along on such an incredible high!

I had a good lesson on Calvin yesterday.  I started warming up at a walk without stirrups.  I rode on the buckle so that I could concentrate on my seat and a long leg.  Then we moved up to a little more contact and riding concentric circles.  It’s a great exercise for us.  I have to ride thinking about my outside leg.  Calvin, loves to fall in/out.  We threw in some counter flexion for good measure and I had some great moments of Calvin coming down into my hands.  Now to remember that and maintain it!

